Elections The Kasson Alliance for Restoration (KARE) conducts an annual election typically during the first quarter of each year. The board of directors normally meets in January of each new year to designate a date for the first annual meeting of KARE’s members during which the annual election is held. The notice of the meeting is published in the local paper and also sent out no later than 30 days prior to the meeting and election of officers, but at least 7 days before. A minimum of five percent of KARE’s membership must be present at a member meeting or voting by proxy to constitute a quorum. A majority vote of said members is sufficient to transact business including the election of board members. In 2020, the board of directors has seven  voting members (there must always be an odd number). The board can vote to have a minimum of 3 or up to a maximum of seventeen board members.  The board member terms are as follows:

President: 3 year term Vice president: 2 year term Treasurer: 3 year term Secretary: 2 year term Three Board Members At Large: 1 year term

If a board member resigns or cannot finish his or her term the board of directors must appoint a new board member who serves until the next annual election. The board can continue to the next annual election with less than seven members as long as the remaining number of board members is an odd number. KARE also has non-voting board advisors that are elected by the board of directors.

2020 Board Officers and Directors

  • President Jerry Giese
  • Vice President Jean Bartel
  • Treasurer Janice Borgstrom-Durst
  • Secretary Debra Wilson
  • Board Directors:
    • Don Ness
    • Kay Williams
    • Linda Jerviss
  • Lifetime Honorary Director Lorraine Spading
Dodge County Fair Booth The Kasson Alliance had set up a historic preservation information booth  at the Dodge County Fair for several years since 2007, but has discontinued that practice for the last several years.

KARE’s 2010 Dodge County Fair Booth

KARE Awards In 2007, KARE President Diane O’Brien-Berge was awarded the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota’s Advocacy Award. This link contains information about the award – Preservation Alliance of Minnesota – 2007 Minnesota Preservation Awards   2007 -Kasson Public School on Endangered Historic Building List In 2007, the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota (PAM) placed the historic 1918 Kasson Public School on PAM’s 10-Most Endangered Historic Building List. The links below lead to the nomination form and the award brochure (see Page 3) – Nomination Form: 10-Most Endangered Historic Building List 1918 Kasson School: 10-Most Endangered Historic Building Award In 2009, KARE was awarded a $2,500 grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation from the Sweatt Endowed Preservation Services Fund to support expenses related to the 2009 Historic Properties Reuse Study Report that was developed by John Lauber and Company. The links below lead to the nomination form and the award letter.

Sweatt Endowed Preservation Services Fund Award National Trust Preservation Funds Application

In 2009, KARE was awarded a $5,000 grant from the Rochester Area Foundation from the Kasson-Mantorville Telecom (KMTEL) Donor Advised Fund. The funds were be used to promote and further KARE’s historic preservation mission.

KMTelecom Donor Advised Fund Grant Award Letter

Dodge Co. Historical Society Events

For information on events hosted by the Dodge Co. Historical Society, please visit their website (

Mantorville, MN Events

For information on Mantorville, MN’s Marigold Days, please visit their website

Friends of Wasioja

Wasioja Civil War Days

1918 School 2009 Reuse Study Information

June 10-12, 2009 Interviews and Public Workshop